You are here
Home > Arts > NEWS: Minnesota Film Score Fest Announces 2023 Selections

NEWS: Minnesota Film Score Fest Announces 2023 Selections

The Minnesota Film Score Fest, which presents new short films with a live orchestral accompaniment, has announced the selections for its 2023 season. Sixteen films from filmmakers and composers across the state will be presented on June 10 at the History Theatre in St. Paul.
A uniquely Minnesotan institution, the Film Score Fest does not charge entrance or application fees to filmmakers and composers, more than 200 of whom have participated since its inaugural 2014 season. Originally a collaboration between the MNKINO video-making community, led by Oanh Vu, and the Composer Quest music composition community, led by Charlie McCarron, the festival now operates as a separate entity under the fiscal sponsorship of FilmNorth.
Film Score Fest applicants can apply in teams or for random pairing, often working with a provided prompt or theme from the festival, such as collisions or connections. The completed films and soundtrack demos are submitted to a committee for judging, from which a final set of selections is made for the live premiere with orchestra.

When, Where, How

Saturday, June 10th, 2023
7:00pm – 8:30pm
History Theatre – 30 10th St E, St Paul, MN 55101
$20 for reserved seats
Pay-what-you-want seats at the door

Selected Films, Filmmakers, Composers

Abu – Benji Perez Gonzalez, Basil Considine
And Another – Pallav Kumar, Christine Palmer
Curiosity – Seth Grabow, Philip Wels, Benji Inniger
Decision to Love – Mai Moua Thao, Liam Moore
Give And Take Time – Audra Day, Charlie Cohn
If Not Now When – Adam Chau, Mark Okern
Into Focus – Joua Lee Grande
Little Godzilla – Kat Aymeloglu, Emily Boyajian
Macbeth (5.5.22) – Tatjana Dankovic, Ken Takata
Midlife Housing Crisis – Jason P. Schumacher, Josie Just
No Time Like the Present – Larry Wydra, Khary Jackson
Picture Start – Rodney Johnson, Nick Rudnik
Sun Film (Working Title) – Chris Lange, Mitchell Dietz
The Other Side – Kish Daniels, Alexandra Skevington
Time Changes Everything – Isha Moore, Thomas Johnson
Unraveled – Huxley Westemeier
Amy Donahue